LeBron James, Kyrie Irving lead the way in 2017 NBA All-Star Game fan voting

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Two members of the Cleveland Cavaliers' Big Three -- LeBron James and Kyrie Irving -- are leading the way in the 2017 NBA All-Star Game voting, the league announced on Thursday afternoon

James, a 12-time NBA All-Star, is the top overall vote-getter, receiving 595,288 votes. He leads Milwaukee's Giannis Antetokounmpo in the frontcourt. Cavaliers power forward Kevin Love is currently third in frontcourt voting, getting 250,347 votes in the first returns. 

Irving, a three-time All-Star who missed the showcase last year following off-season knee surgery, leads the way for backcourt players.

The Cavaliers point guard has received 543,030 votes, which is second-most in the league. Chicago Bulls swingman Dwyane Wade is second among backcourt players in the East. Wade has received 278,052 votes. Toronto's DeMar DeRozan and Boston's Isaiah Thomas follow.

Fans will account for 50 percent of the vote this year. NBA players and select media members will split up the other 50 percent evenly.

Player and media voting will begin next week, with each participant completing one full ballot featuring two guards and three frontcourt players from both conferences.

In the Western Conference, Golden State's Stephen Curry leads the backcourt voting (523,597) while Warriors teammate Kevin Durant tops the list of frontcourt players (541,209). 

The five players (two guards and three frontcourt players) with the best score in each conference will be named NBA All-Star Game starters.

Fan voting will serve as the tiebreaker for players in a position group with the same score.

According to an NBA release, the first week of fan voting for the 2017 NBA All-Star Game, which will take place on Sunday, Feb. 19 at Smoothie King Center in New Orleans, generated 138 percent more votes cast (11,174,153) than during the same time period last year (4,693,433).

Voting concludes on Jan. 16 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The second round of returns will be revealed on Jan. 12, with starters announced on Jan. 19.